“The medals are being awarded to Canadians or permanent residents actively involved in their communities who, through generosity, dedication, volunteerism and hard work, make their hometowns, communities, regions, provinces or territories a better place to live” stated by the Advisory Working Group on the Senate 150th Anniversary Medal.

Slett first met Senator Mobina Jaffer on her travels to Ottawa as part of the North Coast Delegation of Hereditary Chiefs, Elected Chief Councillors and Leaders, last December 2018. She presented to many Senators the importance of Bill-48 Oil Tanker Moratorium Act and urged them to support the bill.

As a community we are proud of Slett for sharing the impacts our Nation has experienced with the Nathan E Stewart Oct 2016.“I am humbled to receive the award, I believe in my heart this is for our Haíɫzaqv Nation. It is our collective strength and perseverance that is recognized and uplifted. The work I do is with the strong mandate and carried with the courage and resilience of our people.” Chief Councillor, K̓áwáziɫ Marilyn Slett.